becoming infinite

always learning. always growing. always lifting heavy things.

love ya always.

8 Comments

this post is neither insightful nor well thought out. it’s a shamelessly bland post about my daily life.

yesterday’s dose of daily living brought me a tattoo i’ve been planning for quite a while.

 

ignore my stupid ‘i’m excited but kind of scared’ face. the tattoo artist kept telling me how painful rib tats are. i assured him that after living through a defective nerve block and severe nerve and muscle issues in the past five weeks, i would be all right…but i was definitely a wee bit nervous. so the pic on the left is me pre-ink, with the template on my ribs already.

and there on the bottom is the finished product.

 

my mom used to send me cards a lot once i moved to lexington – for small holidays but also just randomly. it was always kind of funny because i would get a refurbished halloween card in february or a non-specific card with winter scenery in june. but at any rate, i kept them, and as i got this idea for my tattoo i started to fish through them for what i wanted. i found my easter card from last year and my mom had signed it “love ya always mom.”

the tattoo artist photocopied the card, enlarged the part i wanted a bit, scanned it into the template, and gave me the tattoo i had been planning since i lost my mom in january.

i love it. seriously, truly love it.

and yes, it hurt a little bit, but nothing like the extreme pain he was predicting. it definitely was weird though – every now and then the needle would hit my rib just right and the vibrations would go all the way up to the base of my skull.

so there’s my shamelessly narcissistic post.

Author: jenn

impossible to define; indefinitely impossible. maybe i'll add more here later.

8 thoughts on “love ya always.

  1. I told my mom about your tattoo, and she loved it. She is very much not a tattoo kind of gal, and she really loved the idea.
    I love it too.
    AND I LOVE YOU!!

  2. I really love this tattoo. I need to get another one, you’ve inspired me to go for it 🙂

  3. My most recent tattoo… whenever Jason hit a specific spot on my forearm, my legs would jerk totally uncontrollably. It was actually quite amusing. When he touched it up a couple months later, same thing happened.

    Again, I love this tattoo and I think it’s a beautiful thing that you did this.

Leave a Reply

