becoming infinite

always learning. always growing. always lifting heavy things.

a little more “almost.”

Leave a comment

wednesday was the first day of my last semester of coursework for my PhD. i’m that much closer to being dr. jenn! my advisor refers to me as “almost-doctor” now. : )

this week i also finished my first week on coach’s programming. i feel great – definitely working out some technique things while the weight is still light. we met today to begin Week 2 with some high-volume squat action!

1×5, open bar
1×5 @ 95#
1×2 @ 115#
5×6 @ 135#

everything felt strangely awesome. form is improving every week (which is strange to me since right now i’m actually only squatting on fridays!) and the new depth feels a lot more natural than it did last week. after squats we did some GHRs and reverse hypers for my posterior chain and some ball slams to release the hips. then –

“i want to push the sled,” i sez.
“don’t go too heavy,” he sez.
“in fact, do a 155# walk,” he sez.
“high push the entire time, just walk for five minutes, feet flat,” he sez.
“that sounds lame, but okay,” i sez.
…and then i did it and laid on the floor while my posterior chain exploded afterwards. for real, that consistent sled pushing is NO JOKE.

it’s been a good week. my students seem like they’ll be a lot of fun, i enjoy the courses i’m teaching, and the seminars i’m taking will be good, if not slightly overwhelming in workload. i was awarded funding to go to san antonio in march for my conference (yay!), and i feel much more adjusted to keto-living after another week.

i now have astronomical amounts of grading and lesson planning to do, since i have to work on my conference paper on top of all of my coursework this weekend. thank goodness we have that extra day off!

happiest of fridays y’all.

 

 

Author: jenn

impossible to define; indefinitely impossible. maybe i'll add more here later.

Leave a Reply

